New Financial Services office here to help -  Lackawanna College

Campus News

Student Financial Services: A new way to help our Falcons

Student Financial Services: A new way to help our Falcons

During the summer of 2021, Lackawanna College combined two critical offices in an effort to serve students better.

The new Student Financial Services (SFS) office joins the former Financial Aid and Student Accounts to build a one-stop shop for one of the most difficult areas of higher education. Student Financial Services allows students to handle their financial aid, accounts, tuition balances, and make payments.

The office is located in the former Financial Aid space in Suite 114 of Angeli Hall on the Scranton campus.

By combining Financial Aid and Student Accounts into a single office, the College hopes to greatly improve student customer service and develop better processes around student finances.

“Our optimal goal in SFS is to counsel and serve our students through the finance process from A-to-Z. We are part of the higher education team, which means it is our job to not only walk students through this process but educate them as well.” Student Financial Services Director Joya Whittington said.

The new office offers multiple tiers of service. Many smart devices have been added to the office to help students easily access financial aid apps and websites, pay their bills, check balances, and more.  The College is also working on adding a process to offer smart payment options, like Apple Pay and Google Wallet, through its third-party payment processor.

The Financial Aid process is sometimes one of the most difficult parts of college for students to figure out. But the development of smartphone apps for both Apple and Android devices is making things easier than ever.

Students are encouraged to download the myStudentAid app by the U.S. Department of Education from the Play Store or the App Store.

If you have questions about Student Financial Services, email financialservices@lackawanna.edu. To reach individual staff members, please use the directory below.

Student Financial Services

financialservices@lackawanna.edu
(570) 961-7859

Joya Whittington
Director of Student Financial Services
whittingtonj@lackawanna.edu

Matthew Peters
Associate Director of Student Financial Services
petersm@lackawanna.edu

Ann Kuwik
Associate Director of Student Financial Services
kuwika@lackawanna.edu

Sharon Danks
Assistant Director of Student Financial Services
Dankss@lackawanna.edu

Amy Gazoo
Student Financial Services Systems Specialist
gazooa@lackawanna.edu

Lauren Leppo
Student Financial Services Counselor
Leppol@lackawanna.edu

Melissa Michel
Student Financial Services Counselor
michelm@lackawanna.edu

Lisa Padula
Student Financial Services Administrative Assistant
padulal@lackawanna.edu

Arlene Shaw
Student Financial Services HEERF/Grant Manager
Shawa@lackawanna.edu