Current status: All Summer I classes will be held online June 1 to July 2. All Summer II courses will be held online July 6-August 7. Check for updates.
  • About
  • Academics
  • Admissions
  • Student Life
  • Continuing Education
  • Alumni & Friends
  • Connect
  • Lackawanna College

    Office of the President

    About President Mark Volk

    Mark Volk became the eighth president of Lackawanna College on July 1, 2012. Prior to being selected for the Lackawanna presidency, he was appointed to the position of Vice President of Planning and Operations in 2004 and then was promoted to Executive Vice President of the College in 2007 where he oversaw the daily operations. During his tenure, he supervised all College planning and the implementation of its $2.5 million Title III infrastructure grant. He also assisted the current President in the structural reorganization of the College.

    Prior to his academic career, Mr. Volk served in the U.S. Army and retired with the rank of Colonel. During his 26 year Army career, he served in a variety of command and staff positions in the United States and overseas. He also trained as a Middle East/North Africa Foreign Area Officer (FAO) regional specialist studying Arabic at the Defense Language Institute. Mr. Volk is also a graduate of the Department of State Foreign Service Institute, Tunisia, where he continued his Arabic studies and traveled extensively throughout the Middle East and North Africa.

    Mr. Volk earned a Bachelor of Arts Degree in History from the University of Scranton in 1977, a Master’s of Science in National Security Strategy from the National War College in 1999, and holds a Master’s Degree in History from the University of Scranton. A doctoral candidate at Marywood University, he is in the dissertation phase of his program in Human Development, with a specialization in Higher Education Administration.

    Board of Trustees

    The Board of Trustees, comprised of valued members of the community, oversees the operations of Lackawanna College.

    Mr. John P. Wiercinski, Chairman of the Board of Trustees
    JPW Consulting, President

    Mrs. Joyce Van Schooneveld, Vice Chairman of the Board of Trustees
    President, M & S Service Company, Inc.; CFO, JT Seeley & Co., Inc.

    Mr. William P. Conaboy, Esq., Secretary to the Board of Trustees
    President, Allied Services

    Mr. Mark Volk
    President of Lackawanna College

    Ms. Deborah A. Bailey
    President/Owner, Bailey Design and Advertising

    Ms. Sally Bohlin

    Mr. Jody Cordaro
    President, SCE Environmental Group, Inc.

    Mr. Thomas P. Cummings, Jr., Esq.
    Attorney, Cummings Law Office

    Ms. Christina Curran

    Mr. Dominick DeNaples
    Vice President, DeNaples Auto Parts

    Mr. Gregory Gagorik
    Vice President and Partner, Freedom Auto Group

    Mr. Alex J. Hazzouri
    President/CEO, The Advocacy Alliance and Friendship House

    Mr. Michael B. Kearney
    President & COO, Nexus Hospitality Management-Radisson Lackawanna

    Ms. Cheryl Maddox
    Managing Director and General Counsel, Public Financial Management, Inc.

    Honorable Julia K. Munley, Esq.
    45th District Court Judge, Family Court

    Ms. Colleen Pettinato

    Dr. Jamie Stallman

    Mr. Thomas P. Tulaney
    Executive Vice-President/Chief Lending Officer, Peoples Security Bank & Trust Co.

    Micah Woodard