Lackawanna College Police Academy Class 258 & 259 Cadets Graduate

Campus News

Lackawanna College Police Academy Class 258 and 259 Cadets Graduate

Police Academy Class 258 and 259

The Lackawanna College Police Academy graduated the part-time Class 258 of Scranton and
full-time Class 259 of Hazleton during the ceremony. The graduating classes includes 36 total
cadets, who will begin their careers in law enforcement.

“As you all go to serve and protect your communities, remember that law enforcement is a
noble calling that requires constant learning, adaptability and empathy,” Kevin Mahoney
Lackawanna College Police Academy Director of Operations said. “You will be called to uphold
the law, safe guard public safety, but also respect and uphold the rights of all people, regardless
of background or circumstance.”

Mahoney welcomed those who attended addressed the graduating cadets with former
Lackawanna College Board of Trustees member Dominick DeNaples and guest speaker Luzerne
County District Attorney Sam Sanguedolce.

“We appreciate the courage and fortitude you have to undertake this calling,” Sanguedolce
said. “This job has never been easy and it is not for everyone. Those who make it a career, they
make it more than a job and more than a paycheck.”

The graduation comes after Governor Shapiro’s visit to the Lackawanna College Police Academy
in March to discuss a police recruitment proposal via a $2,500 tax credit yearly for the next
three years.

Graduates of Scranton Part-Time Class 258:

  • Brandon Crossley, Throop
  • Eric Laub, Germansville
  • Olivia Muchal, Jessup
  • Michael Nikityuk, Albrightsville
  • Maria Savinelli, Scranton
  • Collin Shedletsky, Dallas
  • Prakriti Sitaulasharma, Scranton

Graduates of Hazleton Full-Time Class 259:

  • David Bucher, Mount Carmel
  • Desmond Cannon, Hanover Twp
  • Olivia D’Amato, Hazleton
  • Brian DeLuca, Wapwallopen
  • Nicole Dietrich, Freeland
  • Linda Flores, New York City, NY
  • Joshua Grassley, Orangeville
  • Alberto Gutierrez, Kingston
  • Seth Hart, Coal Township
  • Emily Hawthorne, Croydon
  • Larry Hopkins, York City
  • Mark Hysock, Shenandoah
  • Samantha Janner, Nesquehoning
  • Bradley Keen, Bear Creek
  • Zachary King, Wilkes Barre
  • Michael Marchetti, Hazleton
  • Jacob Mercadante, Sugar Notch
  • Anthony Moser, Natalie
  • Henry Ohuche, Sugarloaf
  • Ronald Scarpelli, Plymouth
  • Cole Schaffer, Benton
  • Noah Smith, Lebanon
  • Cristian Vazquez, Shenandoah
  • Joan Vasquez, Hazleton
  • Phillip Veet, Quakake
  • Clint Vermilya, Canton
  • Owen Webber, Ringtown
  • Nicholas Zaso, Nazareth